I Would Pick The Dog Over That Camera Guy

‘Los Angeles county animal control officials are heralding the loyalty of a black Labrador retriever that braved traffic to stay by another dog that was fatally struck by a car.

A motorist who saw the dogs on a La Puente street Wednesday morning put down traffic cones to alert other drivers and shot video of the dogs. The video released Saturday showed the female Labrador lying next to a motionless, yellow Labrador as vehicles pass dangerously close to them.’

Don’t get me wrong, I love American culture. Hot dogs and fries are among  my favourite snacks. But at moments like this I wonder – has this media culture gone too far? I mean, here is the dog clearly in need of urgent help. The least you can do for him is move him away from the road. And all I see  is cars driving by and a guy filming it all on his mobile phone. I can’t help but feel that it is the dog and not the humans around him exhibiting greated concern for fellow living creatures.

If there was a dangerous situation – you know, war or something. I would pick the dog to cover my back over that camera guy any day.

About Dr Vadim Chelom

Dr Vadim Chelom is a Registered Veterinarian, a writer and an educator

2 comments

Leave a Reply

