Stem Cell Therapy For Hip Displasia: Show Me The Evidence!

Hip Displasia is a debilitating disease, as many owners of larger breed dogs will tell you. What’s worse, is that it’s basically incurable. So when a new treatment comes along which promises relief, I naturally get excited.

This was the case with Stem Cell Therapy. Lots of people have been raving about it for ages.  The problem is, I am yet to see any properly conducted research study to demonstrate that it actually works. Yes, I know that everyone says that it works. I also know that it works in horses but all that isn’t the same as a proper investigation. And when we say it ‘works’  – what do we mean by that? Works better then your usual antiinflammatories? And how much better – $5000 dollars better? That’s a lot of money to pay for guess work!

Don’t get me wrong, I want it to work. But the other day the guys who are selling the technology came in to the clinic and their sales pitch was – ‘Get in early before your competitors do’. To which I say, I am a clinician, not a carpet manufacturer. As Tom Cruise said in Gerry Maguire – ‘Show me the evidence!’ (or something like that).

And by the way, the latest product is Stem Cells in an injection. When I asked what does that treat exactly, the answer was – ‘well, basically anything.’ Which is great, if you believe it that is.

About Dr Vadim Chelom

Dr Vadim Chelom is a Registered Veterinarian, a writer and an educator

Leave a Reply

