When Hard Times Hit, Pets Are The First Victims

I have seen this too many times: when communities fall on hard times, pets inevitably bear the brunt:

‘The recession stripped her home of a third of its value. Then health problems left her unable to work.

Foreclosure is just around the corner, said Waller, 67. “I know I’m a couple of months out. I can’t do it anymore. I don’t have the income,” she said. “I’m done. There is nothing I can do now.”

The hardest call she had to make was to Foreclosed Upon Pets, Inc., to arrange for homes for Jake, Marilyn and Jewels so she can move in with relatives.

“I am very depressed about it and very concerned about where they go because I took them for life and life is not what it should be,” she said.’

Foreclosure, especially can mean abandoning your pets to unknown fate. This has tremendous emotional impact often leading to depression.

There is a double-hit for the dog shelters too: they lose revenue as donations dry up, while having to cater for more pats abandoned by people unable to care for them.

The advice to pet owners is – be honest with yourself. When times are tough, look to the future. Pets should be as much a part of future financial planning as children’s education and bills.

I only with that the plight of pets in recession times would gain the same recognition as other aspects of foreclosure stress.

 

About Dr Vadim Chelom

Dr Vadim Chelom is a Registered Veterinarian, a writer and an educator

Leave a Reply

