Three Meaningful Ways To Transcend The Suffering Of Pets

20120817-134258.jpg

Last night Kelly Clarkson’s dog Joplin was rushed to a Veterinary clinic (MedVet) due to an undisclosed illness.

MedVet is an Emergency clinic by the way, so whatever the mystery illness is – it’s a real emergency, not a planned procedure.

A group on Twitter is trying to get #PrayForJoplin up as a trending hash tag. I do admire people who strongly empathize with suffering of pets but surely there must be better ways to express it then Twittering.

This reminds me of something that happened many years ago – while I was still studying to be a Veterinarian – a boy approached me at a Vet clinic and asked if it’s ok to say Psalms for his do who just died. I was taken aback a little and said that Psalms are not really my department but I am sure that giving charity wouldn’t hurt.

I feel this way to this day – the way to internalize and transcend pain is by doing something constructive. Here is my list of things you can do when hearing of another’s pet in pain:

If you don’t have a dog yourself, adopt one from a dog Pound.

Find a single parent or a pensioner who finds it difficult to walk their dog (there is bound to be one on your street) and offer to walk their dog for them.

Donate a little to the local charity or a dog shelter.

If you can’t donate, volunteer instead. They need a lot of those.

This line is blank.

That’s right, I left the line above blank. That’s where you put in your own way to help someone or their pet in a practical way. Go ahead, I know you can do it. And if you come up with a good one – drop me a line and I will gladly publish it.

About Dr Vadim Chelom

Dr Vadim Chelom is a Registered Veterinarian, a writer and an educator

Leave a Reply

