A Blind Painter Is Unusual. a Blind Dog Painter Is…

20120907-100737.jpg

When it comes to painting, an eyesight is a necessary tool. An essential tool, I would think. There aren’t many blind painters around, as far as I know. But this blind artist is really outside the box: you see, the blind artist is a dog:

“Welcome to my web site. My name is Hallie and I am a rescue longhaired dachshund. I paint and donate proceeds to the Purple Heart Rescue. Learn more about me on my “Bio” page. I always wear a red artist’s beret when I paint and it often shows up in my paintings. I also happen to be blind but I don’t let that slow me down.

All of my paintings are now signed! I have to admit I was having a little trouble with that whole paw/dexterity thing, and Mom didn’t want paint up my nose, so we made an exact replica of my actual nose into a stamp and every painting gets my nose print on it.”

At first I thought – what a silly gimmic of an idea. And then I looked at the paintings and thought, they are quite nice. Lots of depth and perspective and all that… as if I know what I am talking about. And the money goes to charity. So why not? I say, maybe you should buy yourself one. And then you can say you own a painting by a blind dog. Not many of those around.

About Dr Vadim Chelom

Dr Vadim Chelom is a Registered Veterinarian, a writer and an educator

One comment

  1. Vlad Radion

    Interesting!

Leave a Reply

