Police Dog Training Tricks YOU Can Use

This article is about Police and explosives dogs training but the message in it is very relevant for regular dog owners – like you and I:

“Despite the complicated cases they become involved with, training the dogs is relatively simple, Sgt Roderick said.

“It’s all based on positive rewards. We make it fun for them, we make it a game,” he said.

“They look for something based on a certain smell and if they find it they get a toy or a reward after it.”

He said the training could be adapted to find all manner of substances and that as new drugs and explosives emerge, the dogs can be shown how to find them.

“I still don’t think we have exploited or understand more than 5% of what a dog is capable of,” he said.

“Some of our dogs are capable of detecting nanogramme of substances. Scientists admit they can’t recreate machines that can detect the same amount. It fascinates me even now.”

That’s right – think of your dog as a four-legged toddler: everything needs to be made fun and exciting.

Make your daily training routine (yes – Daily) fun and exciting for your pal and you will be amazed at the results.

About Dr Vadim Chelom

Dr Vadim Chelom is a Registered Veterinarian, a writer and an educator

5 comments

  1. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, excellent blog!

  2. Hey there exceptional blog! Does running a blog such as this require
    a massive amount work? I’ve no knowledge of computer programming but I had been hoping to
    start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, should
    you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners
    please share. I understand this is off subject nevertheless I just wanted to
    ask. Thank you!

  3. This is really attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively professional blogger.

    I’ve joined your feed and sit up for in quest of extra of your fantastic post.
    Also, I have shared your website in my social networks

  4. Learned so much from youra rticle, can’t wait to try them on to my dogs. Thanks for sharing!

    http://www.dogsilove.com/10-training-mistakes-you-should-never-do-again/

Leave a Reply

